First gain the victory and then make the best use of it you can

Small victories little one:

1. We found a lawyer. A top lawyer who specializes in adoption, and moreover in ICPC (Interstate Compact on the Protection of Children- laymans terms: state-to-state) private domestic infant adoption. We have our first meeting with her on February 10th. We’re both nervous, but so excited to be taking a big step forward…as long as we get a good call after the first weekend in February. Even though the meeting is at 5 PM, I took off the entire day. I know I’ll be a bundle of nerves, so I figured I can use that nervous energy to get some constructive things done at home before we meet the woman who might change our lives (one of the many people who will influence this journey).

2. We hung up blinds. I know this sounds absolutely ridiculous and silly, but it was a small victory for us. We have been meaning to do it for a long, long time and we finally did. And it felt so good. We felt so accomplished. We spent the entire night drilling the walls and listening to old music (Old in this instance means mid-nineties. Though I did fill my old music quote for the week by listening to a little Glenn Miller on my way home from work yesterday).Its a small victory because it was the first step we’ve taken in improving our house to get it ready for the home study.

Other randomness:

My Aunt Susan (who knows nothing at all about any of this) had a dream she told my mom about last night- that RB and I had a little girl. I’ve had this feeling from the very second I’ve heard about you that you’re a little girl. I don’t know why. But when you turn out to be a boy, you can look back on this entry and have an explaination for your therapist. Just kidding 🙂 We’ll be absolutely thrilled no matter what gender you turn out to be, as long as you turn out to be ours.

Today is a much more stable day than yesterday. I wish I could say that my emotions are pretty flat about this whole thing, but they really fluctuate day to day, from one extreme to the other. I am trying to just soak up every minute of a good mood when it sticks around, because you just never know about tomorrow.

 

But for today the sun is shining, the birds are chirping, and we’ve made some progress.

 

 

One thought on “First gain the victory and then make the best use of it you can

Leave a Reply

